## Conference on "Competition Law in Emerging Economies: The Recent Trends and Developments in India" (28 -29 February 2012)

The Conference on "Competition Law in Emerging Economies: Trends and Development in India" was held on 28<sup>th</sup> and 29<sup>th</sup> February' 2012. This had been organized by the Asian-African Legal Consultative Organization (AALCO) in collaboration with the Centre for International Trade and Economic Laws, Centre for Intellectual Property Rights Studies and Michigan-Jindal Centre for Global Corporate and Financial Law and Policy and the Jindal Global law School. This was supported by Competition Promotion and Consumer Protection Directorate and the Ministry of Commerce and Industries, Islamic Republic of Afghanistan.

The venue for the first day was the Secretariat of AALCO at New Delhi and the proceedings of the second day was held at O.P. Jindal Global University, Sonipat, Haryana. The conference began with the Welcome Address by Professor Dr. C. Raj Kumar, Vice Chancellor, O.P. Jindal Global University (JGU) and Dean, Jindal Global Law School (JGLS) which was followed by the Introductory Remarks delivered by both Prof. Dr. Rahmat Mohamad, the Secretary-General of AALCO and Mr. Hafizullah Walirahimi, General Director, Competition Promotion and Consumer Protection Directorate, Ministry of Commerce and Industries, Islamic Republic of Afghanistan.

The Keynote Address was given by Mr. Dhanendra Kumar, Chairman, High Level Committee on Competition policy and Related Matters, Ministry of Corporate Affairs, Government of India. The Presidential address was given by Dr. M. Veerappa Moily, the Union Minister for Corporate Affairs, Government of India. In his address, he highlighted the need on the part of developing countries to have a competition policy in place.

The topic for the first Thematic Session was the "Early days of the Competition Commission of India: Lessons for the Future". The Chairman for this session was Mr. Hafizullah Walirahimi. This Session saw presentations made by a number of experts in the field of trade law that included: Mr. Pradeep S. Mehta, Mr. Suhail Nathani, Mr. G.R. Bhatia and Mr. Manas Chaudhuri.

The Second Session's theme was "Cartels and other Anti-Competitive Agreements" with Prof. Shilpi Bhattacharya, Assistant Professor and Assistant Director, Centre for International trade and Economics laws, JGLS as its Chair. This Session saw a number of experts making their presentations. They included: Mr. Anand S. Pathak, Ms. R.V.

Anuradha, Dr. Aditya Bhattacharjea, Ms.Vijaya Sampath and Prof. Vikramaditya S. Khanna

The Third Session was on "Comparative Perspectives on Sector Regulation" with Dr.Yasukata Fukahori, Deputy Secretary General, AALCO as its Chair. This Session saw a number of presentations. They were made by: Mr. O.P. Vaish, Mr. Rahul Singh, Dr.Rajat Kathuria, and Mr.Anuj Puri.

The Fourth Session, that took place at the O.P. Jindal Global University, Sonipat, was on the theme: "Relevant Market Determination: Issues and Challenges". This Session was chaired by Dr.Xu Jie, the Deputy Secretary- General of AALCO. Presentations were made by: Mr. Sharad Bhansali, Mr. S. Seetharaman, Prof. Padmanabha Ramanujam and Prof. Charles Maddox.

The Fifth Session was on the theme 'Abuse of Dominance: the Experience So Far' with Mr. Uttam Prakash, fair Competition Advisor, Ministry of Commerce and Industries, Islamic Republic of Afghanistan as the Chairman. Presentations were made by: Dr. A. Francis Julian, Prof. James Nedumpara, Ms. Simone Reis and Prof. Yugank Goyal. The Last Session was on the theme 'Merger Control Regulation in India' with Prof. Dr. Michael J. Barnes, Dean, Jindal Global Business School as the Chairman.

The conference ended with the Valedictory Session in which the Concluding Remarks were delivered by Prof. C. Raj Kumar. The Report of the Conference was made by Prof. James Nedumpara and Prof. Yugank Goyal. At this Session, Dr. Xu Jie, the Deputy Secretary-General of AALCO had delivered the final remarks on behalf of the Secretary-General of AALCO. The Vote of Thanks was given by Prof. Y.S.R. Murthy of the O.P. Jindal Global University.