## **New ICC Judges and Presidency**

Six new judges were sworn in as Judges of the International Criminal Court on 9<sup>th</sup> March, 2018. Judges Luz del Carmen Ibañez Carranza (Peru), Solomy Balungi Bossa (Uganda), Tomoko Akane (Japan), Reine Alapini-Gansou (Benin), Kimberly Prost (Canada) and Rosario Salvatore Aitala (Italy) were elected for nine-year terms during the sixteenth session of the Assembly of States Parties (ASP) to the Rome Statute in December 2017.

**Judge Chile Eboe-Osuji** of Nigeria was elected as the new President of the Court on 11<sup>th</sup> March, 2018. **Judge Robert Fremr** of the Czech Republic and **Judge Marc Perrin de Brichambaut** of France were elected as the First and Second Vice-Presidents respectively. The Presidency is for a term of three years.

The New Presidency comprising of the President and the two Vice-Presidents take over from Judge Silvia Fernández de Gurmendi (Argentina), and Vice-Presidents, Judges Joyce Aluoch (Kenya) and Kuniko Ozaki (Japan).

The Presidency in addition to coordinating with the other organs of the Court provides strategic leadership to the International Criminal Court. It is responsible for the proper administration of the Court, except the Office of the Prosecutor (OTP). The Administrative functioning of the Presidency extends to overseeing the activities of the Registry and providing administrative leadership and mentorship to policies guiding the Court's functioning. In addition, concluding cooperation agreements with States and international organizations on Court related matters is a key function of the Presidency.